TechTarget
Accès rapide :
Definition

design thinking

Le design thinking, ou pensée design, est une approche itérative de la résolution de problèmes. Elle réunit délibérément des personnes présentant des connaissances, des compétences, une expérience et des points de vue différents et les fait collaborer dans le but de créer une solution pratique à un problème concret.

Axée sur les processus, cette approche met en oeuvre, comme tout processus, une série d'étapes effectuées dans un ordre précis pour atteindre un objectif. Dans ce cas, l'objectif consiste à identifier une solution qui présente toutes les chances de succès, qu'il est possible de mener à bien en temps et en heure et qui est susceptible d'être acceptée par tous les partenaires concernés.

Les cinq étapes de la pensée design sont l'empathie, la définition, l'idéation, le prototypage et le test.

[Image]

Empathie

Définition

Idéation

Prototypage

Test

 

Empathie – Cette étape implique de s'entretenir avec les partenaires et de leur poser des questions ouvertes. Le but est d'en apprendre le plus possible sur le problème en confrontant différents points de vue.

Définition – Il s'agit, au cours de cette étape, de synthétiser toutes les informations rassemblées lors de l'étape précédente et de parvenir à un consensus général établissant le problème à résoudre. On cherche alors à cerner la portée et la véritable nature du problème.

Idéation – Cette étape consiste à partager des idées, aussi farfelues et irréalistes soient-elles, et à utiliser les idées de chacun pour alimenter le processus de « remue-méninges ». Le but est de trouver des solutions au problème.

Prototypage – Cette étape comporte la création d'une maquette reprenant les caractéristiques essentielles d'une solution proposée. Ce prototype a pour objectif principal d'aider l'équipe de conception à éliminer les solutions irréalisables ou inapplicables, afin de se concentrer sur les idées susceptibles de remporter l'adhésion des partenaires.

Test – C'est l'étape à laquelle le prototype est présenté aux partenaires. Il s'agit de solliciter des retours qui indiqueront à l'équipe de conception si elle a réussi à résoudre le problème ou si elle doit remettre son ouvrage sur le métier et revoir certaines étapes.

Dans le domaine de la formation professionnelle, le concept de design thinking est souvent illustré par une légende urbaine qui commence au dernier étage d'un gratte-ciel dans une grande ville. Dans ce scénario, les dirigeants d'une grande compagnie d'électricité ont été convoqués à une réunion d'urgence, car l'entreprise est de plus en plus en butte à des critiques sur les réseaux sociaux, dont la presse s'est fait l'écho.

Ordre du jour de la réunion : trouver un moyen de mettre un terme à cette publicité négative.

Etape 1 (Empathie) : nous avons décidé de contacter et d'interroger tous les clients ayant critiqué la compagnie sur les réseaux sociaux. L'examen des entretiens a fait apparaître clairement que la forte augmentation des commentaires négatifs était directement consécutive à des coupures d'électricité après d'importantes chutes de neige. En effet, les météorologues interrogés et nos techniciens ont indiqué que la neige lourde et mouillée tombée au cours des deux tempêtes, avait abattu des lignes électriques dans plusieurs zones rurales.

Etape 2 (Définition) : le groupe a alors convenu que le problème n'avait en fait rien à voir avec la presse ni même les réseaux sociaux. Nous avons donc redéfini la problématique : trouver le moyen d'empêcher la neige mouillée de faire tomber les lignes électriques dans les zones rurales.

Etape 3 (Idéation) : nous avons prévu de convier des clients, ingénieurs, météorologues, spécialistes du marketing et représentants du personnel de plusieurs services de la société à un atelier d'une journée au cours duquel nous prendrons en compte toutes les idées pour empêcher la neige de faire tomber les lignes électriques.

De nombreuses idées ont germé lors de cet atelier, dont les trois suivantes. La deuxième a été inspirée par la première et a servi de déclencheur à la troisième.

  • Fixer des téléphones mobiles à chaque ligne électrique et les mettre sur vibreur. En cas de neige, appeler les téléphones de façon répétée afin que leurs vibrations fassent tomber la neige des lignes électriques.
  • Entraîner des oiseaux à se poser sur les lignes électriques et à battre des ailes quand il neige, afin que leurs mouvements secouent la neige des câbles.
  • Faire voler des hélicoptères à basse altitude au-dessus des lignes électriques. Le souffle des pales chassera ainsi la neige.

Etape 4 (Prototypage) : le groupe a décidé de se focaliser sur la création d'un prototype issu de la troisième idée, le vol d'hélicoptères. Ce prototype consistait simplement en un grand schéma illustrant le fonctionnement de la solution.

Etape 5 (Test) : le prototype a été présenté aux partenaires qui ont été invités à donner leur avis. Après moult débats, ceux-ci ont convenu que faire voler un hélicoptère au-dessus des lignes électriques pour débarrasser ces dernières de la neige était une solution réalisable. On pouvait également profiter de ce vol pour inspecter les lignes afin de repérer les équipements usés ou endommagés ainsi que la végétation qui risquait de perturber l'approvisionnement.

Les concepts qui sous-tendent le design thinking proviennent de nombreux domaines de connaissance : ingénierie, informatique, art, sciences sociales et commerce. Selon la mise en oeuvre, les étapes peuvent porter des noms différents, être combinées différemment ou exécutées dans un autre ordre. Quelle que soit cette mise en oeuvre, cependant, les principes du design thinking restent les mêmes : recueillir des informations en s'entretenant avec les partenaires, réfléchir à des idées, créer un prototype et le tester. Il faut veiller à ce que les idées créatives et analytiques soient perçues comme aussi valables les unes que les autres et comprendre que l'échec est acceptable du moment qu'il permet à l'équipe de progresser vers une solution.

A bien des égards, la pensée design reflète la philosophie du management de l'ingénieur Taiichi Ohno, à qui on attribue le développement du toyotisme pour redresser l'économie du Japon après la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Le toyotisme, ou The Toyota Way, comporte deux principes : le respect des personnes (également appelé respect des partenaires) et l'amélioration continue (ou Kaizen). Après la dernière récession aux Etats-Unis, les principes essentiels de cette méthode, axés sur le client et conçus pour faire face à des contraintes fluctuantes, ont été adoptés par les développeurs de logiciels et responsables métier sous les nouvelles appellations de gestion agile et gestion au plus juste (« lean management »). Depuis lors, de nouvelles expressions telles que récit utilisateur, spécification par l'exemple et essai de réception sont apparues et se sont vulgarisées.

De même, le design thinking gagne en popularité dans une économie en pleine évolution et devient un outil de plus en plus prisé dans les grandes entreprises qui ont du mal à trouver de nouvelles sources de revenu. Il s'agit notamment des fournisseurs informatiques (IT) établis qui peinent à s'adapter aux bouleversements du marché entraînés par la technologie mobile et le Cloud computing. Par le passé, les décisions d'achat en matière d'IT étaient le domaine réservé du DSI (directeur des systèmes d'information) ou du DTI (directeur des techniques informatiques) d'une entreprise, qui constituaient alors les cibles privilégiées des spécialistes du marketing. Le modèle de mise à disposition SaaS (Software-as-a-Service) a transformé le système des achats, avec pour conséquence la dispersion du pouvoir d'achat entre les chefs de service de l'ensemble de l'entreprise. C'est pourquoi IBM, Citrix, Microsoft, HP Enterprise et de nombreux autres fournisseurs embauchent des spécialistes du design thinking, chargés de mieux faire connaître ces nouveaux clients dans le but de créer des fonctionnalités, produits et services répondant à leurs besoins et générant des revenus.

Cette définition a été mise à jour en mai 2018

- ANNONCES GOOGLE

LeMagIT

Close

Browse Definitions:
Definition

design thinking

Design thinking is an iterative approach to problem solving that intentionally seeks out people with different perspectives, knowledge, skills and experience and has them work together to create a practical solution for a real-world problem.

Design thinking uses a process-based approach to solve problems and like any process, it involves a series of steps that are carried out in a particular order to achieve a goal. In this case, the goal is to identify a solution that is capable of succeeding, can be carried out in a timely manner and is likely to be accepted by all stakeholders.

The five steps in design thinking are empathize, define, ideate, prototype and test.

design thinking steps

Empathize – This step involves interviewing stakeholders and asking open-ended questions. The goal is to learn more about the problem from multiple perspectives.

Define – This step involves synthesizing all the information that was gathered during the previous step and arriving at a group consensus that states what problem needs to be solved. The goal is to identify the scope and true nature of the problem.

Ideate – This step involves sharing ideas – however wild and impractical -- and using each other’s ideas as triggers for continuing the ideation process. The goal is to brainstorm solutions to the problem.

Prototype – This step involves creating a mock-up that conveys the essence of a proposed solution. An important goal of this step is to help the design team weed out unworkable or impractical solutions and focus attention on ideas that are likely to be approved by stakeholders.

Test –This step involves presenting the prototype to stakeholders. The goal is to solicit feedback that will let the design team know if they have successfully solved the problem or whether they need to go back to the drawing board and repeat steps.

In professional development training, the concept of design thinking is often illustrated with an urban legend that begins on the top floor of a tall skyscraper in a large city. In this scenario, executives at a large power utility have been called to an emergency meeting because there has been a huge increase in negative remarks about the utility on social media and the press has picked up on it.

Meeting agenda: Figure out a way to stop the negative press.

Step 1 (Empathize): We decided to contact and interview every customer who has made a comment about the power utility on social media. After reviewing customer interviews, it became clear that the increase in negative comments was in direct response to power outages after recent snowstorms. Additional interviews with meteorologists and our electrical engineers revealed that both storms dumped heavy, wet snow that took down power lines in several rural areas.

Step 2 (Define): The group agreed the problem really had nothing to do with the press or even with social media. We have redefined the problem: Figure out how to prevent wet snow from taking down power lines in rural areas.

Step 3 (Ideate): We will invite customers, engineers, meteorologists, marketers and employee representatives from multiple departments throughout the company to a full-day workshop where all ideas for how to prevent heavy snow from taking down power lines will be considered.

Many ideas were generated during this full-day workshop, including the following three. The second idea was inspired by the first idea and served as the trigger for the third idea.

  • Attach cell phones to each power line and set the phones to vibrate. When it snows, call the phones repeatedly so when they vibrate, the snow falls off the power lines.
  • Train birds to sit on power lines and flap their wings when it snows. The birds’ movement the will shake snow off the power lines.
  • Fly helicopters at low altitude over the power lines. The downwash from the helicopter blades will knock the snow off the power lines.

Step 4 (Prototype): The group decided to focus their attention on creating a prototype for the third idea, flying helicopters. The prototype was simply a large diagram that illustrated how the idea worked.

Step 5 (Test): The prototype was presented to stakeholders and feedback was solicited. After much discussion, stakeholders agreed that flying a helicopter over power lines to knock off snow was a feasible solution. Flight time could also be used to inspect lines for worn or damaged equipment and identify vegetation hazards that might disrupt service in the future.

The concepts that form the foundation of design thinking are drawn from many branches of knowledge including engineering, computer science, the arts, social sciences and business. Depending upon the implementation, the steps may be called by different names, combined in different ways or carried out in different orders. Regardless of the specific implementation, however, the principles of design thinking remain the same: gather information by talking to the stakeholders, brainstorm ideas, create a prototype and test it. Make sure that both creative and analytical ideas are perceived as having value and understand that failure is OK as long as it moves the team closer to a real solution.

In many ways, design thinking reflects the management philosophy of Engineer Taiichi Ohno, who is credited with developing the Toyota Way to help with Japan's economic recovery after World War II. The Toyota Way has two components, Respect for People (also known as Respect for Stakeholders) and Continuous Improvement (also known as Kaizen). After the last recession in the United States, its guiding principles, which are customer-centric and designed to deal with changing constraints, were adopted by software developers and business managers under the new labels agile and lean. Since then, new terms like user story, specification by example and acceptance test have entered the lexicon and gone mainstream.

Similarly, design thinking has also gained popularity in a changing economy and is increasingly becoming a valuable tool for large enterprises that are challenged with finding new revenue streams. This is especially true for established information technology (IT) vendors who are struggling with how to respond to market changes caused by mobile and cloud computing. In the past, IT buying decisions were the exclusive domain of an organization’s CIO or CTO and they were who marketers reached out to. The Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) delivery model changed the purchasing landscape and buying power has trickled down into the hands of department heads throughout the organization. As a result, IBM, Citrix, Microsoft, HP Enterprise and many other IT vendors are hiring design thinkers to help the vendor get to know these new customers and create new features, products and services that meets their needs and brings in revenue.

This was last updated in February 2016

Continue Reading About design thinking

Join the conversation

1 comment

Send me notifications when other members comment.

By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Please create a username to comment.

I liked the article despite of the example. For entertaining and in-depth reading on Problem Solving - with real examples - I recommend "Are Your Lights On?" by Jerry Weinberg: https://leanpub.com/areyourlightson
Cancel

-ADS BY GOOGLE

File Extensions and File Formats

Powered by:

SearchCompliance

SearchSecurity

  • copyright

    Copyright is a legal term describing ownership of control of the rights to the use and distribution of certain works of creative ...

  • keylogger (keystroke logger or system monitor)

    A keylogger, sometimes called a keystroke logger or system monitor, is a type of surveillance technology used to monitor and ...

  • password

    A password is an unspaced sequence of characters used to determine that a computer user requesting access to a computer system is...

SearchHealthIT

SearchDisasterRecovery

  • business continuity plan (BCP)

    A business continuity plan (BCP) is a document that consists of the critical information an organization needs to continue ...

  • call tree

    A call tree -- sometimes referred to as a phone tree -- is a telecommunications chain for notifying specific individuals of an ...

  • mass notification system (MNS)

    A mass notification system is a platform that sends one-way messages to inform employees and the public of an emergency.

SearchStorage

  • RAID (redundant array of independent disks)

    RAID (redundant array of independent disks) is a way of storing the same data in different places on multiple hard disks to ...

  • data migration

    Data migration is the process of transferring data between data storage systems, data formats or computer systems.

  • compact disc (CD)

    A compact disc is a portable storage medium that can be used for recording, storing and playing back audio, video and other data ...

SearchSolidStateStorage

  • NVMe (non-volatile memory express)

    NVMe (non-volatile memory express) is a host controller interface and storage protocol to enable a solid-state drive to use the ...

  • SSD RAID (solid-state drive RAID)

    SSD RAID (solid-state drive RAID) is a methodology commonly used to protect data by distributing redundant data blocks across ...

  • Tier 0

    Tier 0 (tier zero) is a level of data storage that is faster, and perhaps more expensive, than any other level in the storage ...

SearchCloudStorage

  • RESTful API

    A RESTful application program interface breaks down a transaction to create a series of small modules, each of which addresses an...

  • cloud storage infrastructure

    Cloud storage infrastructure is the hardware and software framework that supports the computing requirements of a private or ...

  • Zadara VPSA and ZIOS

    Zadara Storage provides block, file or object storage with varying levels of compute and capacity through its ZIOS and VPSA ...

Close