Part of the Network security glossary:

iOS Erase is a feature that obliterates everything stored in the iOS encrypted file system’s user partition. All user partition contents – including contacts, calendars, device settings, third-party applications, and associated application data – become cryptographically inaccessible. To render contents inaccessible, the Erase API overwrites the encryption keys saved in effaceable storage.

The Erase All Contents and Settings API may be invoked by a local or remote wipe. Users may also choose to manually reset device settings, network settings, keyboard dictionary, home screen layout, or location history. These alternatives simply restore specified settings to factory default without affecting user data or installed applications.

All contemporary Apple devices that run the iOS operating system (i.e., iPhones, iPads, iPods, Apple TVs) support iOS Erase.

This was last updated in January 2013
Contributor(s): Lisa Phifer
Posted by: Margaret Rouse

Related Terms

Definitions

Glossaries

  • Network security

    - Terms related to network security, including definitions about intrusion prevention and words and phrases about VPNs and firewalls.

  • Internet applications

    - This WhatIs.com glossary contains terms related to Internet applications, including definitions about Software as a Service (SaaS) delivery models and words and phrases about web sites, e-commerce ...

Ask a Question. Find an Answer.Powered by ITKnowledgeExchange.com

Ask An IT Question

Get answers from your peers on your most technical challenges

Ask Question

Tech TalkComment

Share
Comments

    Results

    Contribute to the conversation

    All fields are required. Comments will appear at the bottom of the article.