Browse Definitions:
Reference

Linux distributions with GUI install

Distribution
Website
ALT Linux http://www.altlinux.com/
Ark Linux http://arklinux.org/
Asianux http://www.asianux.com/
Aurox http://www.aurox.org/
BLAG http://www.blagblagblag.org/
CentOS http://www.centos.org/
Debian http://www.debian.org/
dyne:bolic http://dynebolic.org/
Elive http://www.elivecd.org/
Fedora http://fedoraproject.org/
Foresight Linux http://www.foresightlinux.org/
gnuLinEx http://www.linex.org/joomlaex/
GoboLinux http://www.gobolinux.org/
Kanotix http://www.kanotix.com/
Kurumin http://www.gdhpress.com.br/kurumin/
Linspire http://www.linspire.com/
Linux Mint http://linuxmint.com/
Mandriva http://www.mandriva.com/
MEPIS http://www.mepis.org/
Musix GNU+Linux http://musix.org.ar/
Myah OS http://myah.org/
Nitix http://www.nitix.com/
openSUSE http://www.opensuse.org/
Pardus http://www.pardus.org.tr/
Parsix http://www.parsix.org/
PCLinuxOS http://www.pclinuxos.com/
Pie Box Enterprise Linux http://www.piebox.com/
Puppy Linux http://www.puppylinux.com
Red Flag http://www.redflag-linux.com/
Red Hat Enterprise Linux http://www.redhat.com
Rxart http://www.pixartargentina.com.ar/
Sabayon Linux http://www.sabayonlinux.org/
Satux http://www.satux.org.br/
Scientific http://www.scientificlinux.org/
sidux http://sidux.com/
Source Mage GNU/Linux http://www.sourcemage.org/
SUSE http://www.novell.com/linux/
Symphony OS http://symphonyos.com/cms/
Ubuntu http://www.ubuntu.com/
Kubuntu http://www.kubuntu.org/
Xubuntu http://www.xubuntu.org/
Vector Linux http://vectorlinux.com
Xandros Desktop OS http://www.xandros.com/
Zenwalk Linux http://www.zenwalk.org/
This was last updated in May 2008

Start the conversation

Send me notifications when other members comment.

By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

Please create a username to comment.

-ADS BY GOOGLE

File Extensions and File Formats

SearchCompliance

SearchSecurity

  • Advanced Encryption Standard (AES)

    The Advanced Encryption Standard, or AES, is a symmetric block cipher used by the U.S. government to protect classified ...

  • identity theft

    Identity theft, also known as identity fraud, is a crime in which an imposter obtains key pieces of personally identifiable ...

  • spear phishing

    Spear phishing is an email-spoofing attack that targets a specific organization or individual, seeking unauthorized access to ...

SearchHealthIT

SearchDisasterRecovery

  • call tree

    A call tree -- sometimes referred to as a phone tree -- is a telecommunications chain for notifying specific individuals of an ...

  • mass notification system (MNS)

    A mass notification system is a platform that sends one-way messages to inform employees and the public of an emergency.

  • disaster recovery as a service (DRaaS)

    One approach to a strong disaster recovery plan is DRaaS, where companies offload data replication and restoration ...

SearchStorage

  • ZFS

    ZFS is a local file system and logical volume manager created by Sun Microsystems to control the placement, storage and retrieval...

  • CIFS (Common Internet File System)

    CIFS (Common Internet File System) is a protocol that gained popularity around the year 2000, as vendors worked to establish an ...

  • GlusterFS (Gluster File System)

    GlusterFS (Gluster File System) is an open source distributed file system that can scale out in building-block fashion to store ...

SearchSolidStateStorage

  • Tier 0

    Tier 0 (tier zero) is a level of data storage that is faster, and perhaps more expensive, than any other level in the storage ...

  • PCIe SSD (PCIe solid-state drive)

    A PCIe SSD (PCIe solid-state drive) is a high-speed expansion card that attaches a computer to its peripherals.

  • SSD caching

    SSD caching, also known as flash caching, is the temporary storage of data on NAND flash memory chips in a solid-state drive so ...

SearchCloudStorage

  • RESTful API

    A RESTful application program interface breaks down a transaction to create a series of small modules, each of which addresses an...

  • cloud storage infrastructure

    Cloud storage infrastructure is the hardware and software framework that supports the computing requirements of a private or ...

  • Zadara VPSA and ZIOS

    Zadara Storage provides block, file or object storage with varying levels of compute and capacity through its ZIOS and VPSA ...

Close