Definitionen durchsuchen :
Definition

Ethereum

Ethereum ist eine verteilte Open-Source-Softwareplattform und Kryptowährung, die auf Blockchain-Technologie basiert. Blockchain ist eine Distributed-Ledger-Technologie, die eine permanente, manipulationssichere Liste von Datensätzen führt. Ethereum ist der Hauptkonkurrent von Bitcoin.

Fortsetzung des Inhalts unten

Mit Ethereum können Entwickler dezentrale Anwendungen erstellen. Die sogenannten Miner schürfen Ether-Token, die sowohl als Währung als auch zur Zahlung von Nutzungsgebühren im Ethereum-Netzwerk verwendet werden können. Die Plattform unterstützt auch Smart Contracts, bei denen es sich um eine Art digitalen Vertrag handelt.

Ether-Token werden von den Knoten oder Computern von Freiwilligen produziert, welche die Coins schürfen. Beim Mining wird die Kryptografie erstellt, auf der die Währung basiert. Da das Mining die Ressourcen eines Computers deutlich beansprucht, werden Miner mit Ether entlohnt.

Die Ethereum-Plattform bietet die rechnerisch vollständige (Turing vollständige) Ethereum Virtual Machine (EVM). EVM führt weltweit Skripte in seinem Netzwerk verteilter öffentlicher Knoten aus. Diese Knoten bieten die Verarbeitungsleistung für dezentrale Anwendungen, die von Entwicklern erstellt wurden, um im Netzwerk ausgeführt zu werden. Entwickler können Ether kaufen, um die Netzwerknutzung zu bezahlen, oder die Token selbst abbauen, um Teil des Netzwerks zu werden. Die Preisgestaltung für Transaktionen im Netzwerk wird durch den internen Mechanismus Gas festgelegt.

Smart Contracts werden über das Netzwerk in derselben Blockchain übertragen, in der das Transaktions-Ledger für die Ether-Kryptowährung aufgezeichnet wird. Diese digitalen Verträge können Bedingungen enthalten, die bis zur Erfüllung auf Skripten ausgeführt werden. Ethereum verfügt über integrierte Mechanismen, um zu erkennen, wenn eine Vereinbarung nicht erfüllt wird. Smart Contracts können verwendet werden, um Dinge wie Immobilien, Geld und Aktien über einen Ether-Token auszutauschen.

Ethereum ging auf einen Vorschlag des Kryptowährungsforschers Vitalik Buterin aus dem Jahr 2013 zurück. Zunächst hatte Vitalik das Hinzufügen einer Skriptsprache für die Programmierung von Bitcoin vorgeschlagen. Die Entwicklung von Ethereum finanzierte sich durch einen Online-Crowdsale – eine Form des Crowdfundings. Das Projekt wurde am 30. Juli 2015 online gestellt.

Diese Definition wurde zuletzt im Mai 2021 aktualisiert
ComputerWeekly.de
Close

Browse Definitions :
Definition

Ethereum

Ethereum is an open source, distributed software platform and cryptocurrency built off of blockchain technology. Blockchain is a distributed ledger technology, or DTL, that keeps a permanent, tamper-proof list of records. Ethereum is Bitcoin’s main competitor.

Ethereum allows developers to build decentralized applications. Miners produce Ether tokens which can be used as a currency as well as to pay for usage fees on the Ethereum network. The platform also supports smart contracts, which are a type of digital contract.

Ether tokens are produced by the nodes or computers of volunteers who mine for the coin. Mining produces the cryptography upon which the currency is based. Because mining is a demanding use of a computer’s resources, miners are rewarded with Ether.

The Ethereum platform offers the computationally complete (Turing complete), Ethereum Virtual Machine (EVM). EVM executes scripts worldwide across its network of distributed public nodes. These nodes provide the processing power for decentralized applications created by developers to run on the network. Developers may purchase Ether to pay for network use, or mine for the tokens themselves, becoming a part of the network. The pricing of transactions on the network is set by an internal mechanism called Gas.

Smart contracts are carried across the network in the same blockchain that records the ledger of transactions for the Ether cryptocurrency. These digital contracts can have conditions that run on scripts until fulfilled. Ethereum has built-in mechanisms to detect when an agreement is not met. Smart contracts can be used to exchange things such as properties, money and stocks on the back of a token of Ether.

Ethereum came from a proposal made by cryptocurrency researcher Vitalik Buterin in 2013. Initially, Vitalik had proposed the addition of a scripting language for programing to Bitcoin. The development of Ethereum was funded by an online crowdsale.  The project came online July 30, 2015.

This was last updated in August 2017

Continue Reading About Ethereum

SearchCompliance
  • ISO 31000 Risk Management

    The ISO 31000 Risk Management framework is an international standard that provides businesses with guidelines and principles for ...

  • pure risk

    Pure risk refers to risks that are beyond human control and result in a loss or no loss with no possibility of financial gain.

  • risk reporting

    Risk reporting is a method of identifying risks tied to or potentially impacting an organization's business processes.

SearchSecurity
SearchHealthIT
SearchDisasterRecovery
  • What is risk mitigation?

    Risk mitigation is a strategy to prepare for and lessen the effects of threats faced by a business.

  • fault-tolerant

    Fault-tolerant technology is a capability of a computer system, electronic system or network to deliver uninterrupted service, ...

  • synchronous replication

    Synchronous replication is the process of copying data over a storage area network, local area network or wide area network so ...

SearchStorage
Close