Definitionen durchsuchen :
Definition

Ripple

Mitarbeiter: Matthew Haughn

Ripple ist ein Zahlungsprotokoll, eine Kryptowährung und ein High-Tech- oder Fintech-Unternehmen. Es verwendet Blockchain-Technologie, um Banken auf diese Weise schnelle Transaktionen zu ermöglichen. Die dazugehörigen Token (Ripples) haben das Kürzel XRP und man kann sie bei entsprechenden Wechselstellen oder Exchanges erwerben.

Durch Blockchain-Technologie bietet Ripple seinen Partnern Sicherheit, Zuverlässigkeit und Überprüfbarkeit an. Mithilfe der Software und dem Enterprise-Netzwerk sind sofortige und nachvollziehbare Transfers von Geldmitteln zwischen verschiedenen Ländern möglich. Die Technologie setzt auf ein Open-Source-Protokoll, das Partner nutzen können, um die Software in die eigenen Systeme zu implementieren. Sie können danach ihren Kunden den Service anbieten.

Genau wie Bitcoin nutzt auch Ripple die sogenannte Blockchain. Das ist eine Art verteiltes Konto (in Fachkreisen Ledger genannt) für Transaktionen. Über die Blockchain abgewickelte Zahlungen werden auf Computern im dazugehörigen Netzwerk gespeichert. Mithilfe der Technologie lassen sich auch digitale Verträge abschließen, Handel mit Finanzen treiben und Identitäten verifizieren. Bitcoin gehört niemandem und jeder kann die Währung an einem Handelsplatz erwerben. Hinter Ripple und XRP Token stehen die RippleLabs, ein Unternehmen für globale Geldtransaktionen. Deswegen ist Ripple im Gegensatz zu Bitcoin und andere digitalen Währungen zentralisiert, weil es von traditionellen Währungen wie dem US-Dollar, dem Euro oder Britischen Pfund gestützt ist.

Ripple wird von mehreren Finanzinstituten wie zum Beispiel American Express, Santander, UniCredit und UBS genutzt. Bei Banken und anderen Zahlungsnetzwerken wird der Service immer beliebter, weil sich damit sichere Transaktionen durchführen lassen. Durch das System ist es einfach, den Status einer Zahlung zu überprüfen und außerdem sehen Sie sofort, wie hoch die Kosten für die jeweilige Transaktion sind. Mit der Technologie von Ripple können Sie auch eine sogenannte FIAT-Währung in eine andere tauschen, ohne eine Zwischenwährung zu benötigen.

Diese Definition wurde zuletzt im Januar 2019 aktualisiert

- GOOGLE-ANZEIGEN

ComputerWeekly.de

Close

Browse Definitions :
Definition

Ripple

Contributor(s): Matthew Haughn

Ripple is a payment protocol, cryptocurrency creator and high-tech payment firm that uses blockchain technology to help banks conduct fast global financial settlements. It works off of their digital currency XRP tokens (ripples), which trades publically on their own currency exchange.

In using blockchain technology, Ripple offers partners security, reliability and verifiability by using their software and enterprise network to enable instant, traceable transfers of funds between one country and another. It uses an open-source protocol that allows partners to incorporate the software into their own systems and offer the service to their customers.

Like Bitcoin, Ripple used blockchain, a form of distributed ledger for transactions. Payments made through a blockchain are recorded on computers across the associated network. The technology is also used to enable digital contracts, financial trades and identity verification. Unlike Bitcoin, which is a currency owned by anyone who wants to buy it on the exchange, Ripple and XRP tokens are backed by RippleLabs, a global money transaction business. Because of this, Ripple is more centralized than Bitcoin and other digital currencies as it is essentially backed by traditional currencies as if it is like dollars, pounds or yen in another form.

Ripple is used by several financial institutions like American Express, Santander, UniCredit  and UBS. It has become increasingly popular with banks and other payment networks as a secure settlement infrastructure technology. The system makes it simple to check the status of a payment and the record of the cost of a transaction. The technology that Ripple created also allows the transfer of one fiat currency to another without switching to an intermediate cryptocurrency.

This was last updated in January 2018

Continue Reading About Ripple

Start the conversation

Send me notifications when other members comment.

Please create a username to comment.

SearchCompliance

  • risk assessment

    Risk assessment is the identification of hazards that could negatively impact an organization's ability to conduct business.

  • PCI DSS (Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard)

    The Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) is a widely accepted set of policies and procedures intended to ...

  • risk management

    Risk management is the process of identifying, assessing and controlling threats to an organization's capital and earnings.

SearchSecurity

SearchHealthIT

SearchDisasterRecovery

  • call tree

    A call tree is a layered hierarchical communication model that is used to notify specific individuals of an event and coordinate ...

  • Disaster Recovery as a Service (DRaaS)

    Disaster recovery as a service (DRaaS) is the replication and hosting of physical or virtual servers by a third party to provide ...

  • cloud disaster recovery (cloud DR)

    Cloud disaster recovery (cloud DR) is a combination of strategies and services intended to back up data, applications and other ...

SearchStorage

Close