Browse Definitions :
Definition

Trusted Platform Module (TPM)

A Trusted Platform Module (TPM) is a specialized chip on an endpoint device that stores RSA encryption keys specific to the host system for hardware authentication

Each TPM chip contains an RSA key pair called the Endorsement Key (EK). The pair is maintained inside the chip and cannot be accessed by software. The Storage Root Key (SRK) is created when a user or administrator takes ownership of the system. This key pair is generated by the TPM based on the Endorsement Key and an owner-specified password.

A second key, called an Attestation Identity Key (AIK) protects the device against unauthorized firmware and software modification by hashing critical sections of firmware and software before they are executed. When the system attempts to connect to the network, the hashes are sent to a server that verifies that they match expected values. If any of the hashed components has been modified since last started, the match will fail, and the system can not gain entry to the network.

TPM chips can be used with any major operating system and work best in conjunction with other security technologies such as firewalls, antivirus software, smart cards and biometric verification

The term TPM is sometimes used in reference to the set of specifications applicable to TPM chips.

See also: hard-drive encryption, encryption key management

This was last updated in September 2014

Continue Reading About Trusted Platform Module (TPM)

Join the conversation

2 comments

Send me notifications when other members comment.

Please create a username to comment.

What will happen if I erase the TPM?
Cancel
i am putting a clean version of windows 10 from my pc but keep getting message
a configuration change was requested to clear this computer's (trusted platform module)
Warning: clearing erases information stored on the TPM.
You will lose all created keys and access to data encrypted by these keys
Press F12 to clear the TPM
Press ESC to reject this change request and continue

I take it this is where the windows 10 is stored so did not want to clear but can not get rid of message 
It comes on every time i start or restart
Any suggestions as to how to get rid of message


Cancel

-ADS BY GOOGLE

File Extensions and File Formats

Powered by:

SearchCompliance

  • risk management

    Risk management is the process of identifying, assessing and controlling threats to an organization's capital and earnings.

  • compliance as a service (CaaS)

    Compliance as a Service (CaaS) is a cloud service service level agreement (SLA) that specified how a managed service provider (...

  • data protection impact assessment (DPIA)

    A data protection impact assessment (DPIA) is a process designed to help organizations determine how data processing systems, ...

SearchSecurity

  • DMZ (networking)

    In computer networks, a DMZ (demilitarized zone), also sometimes known as a perimeter network or a screened subnetwork, is a ...

  • quantum supremacy

    Quantum supremacy is the experimental demonstration of a quantum computer's dominance and advantage over classic computers by ...

  • Australian Assistance and Access Bill

    The Australian Assistance and Access Bill is legislation introduced and passed in 2018 by the Parliament of Australia to support ...

SearchHealthIT

SearchDisasterRecovery

  • business continuity plan (BCP)

    A business continuity plan (BCP) is a document that consists of the critical information an organization needs to continue ...

  • disaster recovery team

    A disaster recovery team is a group of individuals focused on planning, implementing, maintaining, auditing and testing an ...

  • cloud insurance

    Cloud insurance is any type of financial or data protection obtained by a cloud service provider. 

SearchStorage

Close